The Girl with the Dragon Heart

by Stephanie Burgis illustrated by Freya Hartas
Short Summary
The Crown Fairy Princess has promised Silke, the young chocolate maker, a home if she works for her as a spy—but Silke knows that fairies can’t be trusted!

Good For:
Chocolate-Filled Fantasy Novel, Witty Wise-Cracking Heroine, Fans of Bestselling Author Shannon Hale, Feel-Good Stories with a Girl-Power Punch

Topics and Themes:Fairies, Spies, Chocolate, Secrets

Product Details

For exclusive book club value price & free shipping

Books are offered at exclusively low prices and shipped to the classroom for free. Plus each order gives back to the class in FREE Books and resources.

Parent: To place an order, you must be connected to a teacher via the Class Code, or search for the teacher to get connected. If you already have an account, just .

Share your Class Code with friends and extended family for ordering online.

Summary

More
Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that, just years after arriving in the kingdom as a penniless orphan, she has found her way to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city as a master promoter. Although Silke loves her work at the Chocolate Heart, she’s certain it’s not going to last—and what Silke wants more than anything is somewhere safe to call home. But when one’s best friend is a dragon-turned-hot-tempered-girl, trouble is always right around the corner.



Then Silke gets the opportunity she’s been waiting for: the Crown Princess personally asks her to spy on the Elfenwald royal family during their first visit to the kingdom. In return, Silke will have the home she’s always wanted in the secure palace. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies…and her mission isn’t as simple as she hoped. Soon she discovers that her city is in danger—and that maybe it’s more her home than she ever realized.



Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden?

Show Less

Also Read . . .

Popular For This Age Group

Recently Viewed

Product Details

    • Grades: 4 - 6
    • Ages: 9 - 12
  • Product Type: Book
  • Page Count: 288 pages
  • Dimensions: 5 1/4" x 7 5/8"
  • Language: English
  • ISBN 13: 978-1-338-60725-3