Medal of Honor: Jack Montgomery: World War II: Gallantry at Anzio

by Michael P. Spradlin
Short Summary
This courageous member of the Cherokee nation was awarded the Medal of Honor for singlehandedly defeating three German machine gunners.

Good For:
Fans of Military History, Inspiring Story of Courage Under Fire, Honoring the Sacrifices of Those Who Serve

Topics and Themes:
World War II, US Army Infantry, German Army, Cherokee Nation, Italy, Valor on the Field of Battle, Medal of Honor

Product Details

For exclusive book club value price & free shipping

Books are offered at exclusively low prices and shipped to the classroom for free. Plus each order gives back to the class in FREE Books and resources.

Parent: To place an order, you must be connected to a teacher via the Class Code, or search for the teacher to get connected. If you already have an account, just .

Share your Class Code with friends and extended family for ordering online.

Summary

More
Jack C. Montgomery was a Cherokee from Oklahoma and a first lieutenant with the 45th Infantry Division Thunderbirds. On February 22, 1944, near Padiglione, Italy, Montgomery’s rifle platoon was under fire from three groups of enemy forces when he single-handedly attacked all three positions, neutralizing the German machine gunners and taking numerous prisoners in the process. Montgomery’s actions demoralized the enemy and saved the lives of many American soldiers.

The Medal of Honor series profiles the courage and accomplishments of recipients of the highest and most prestigious personal military decoration, awarded to recognize US military service members who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary acts of valor.
Show Less

Also Read . . .

Popular For This Age Group

Recently Viewed

Product Details

    • Grades: 4 - 6
    • Ages: 9 - 12
  • Product Type: Book
  • Page Count: 112 pages
  • Dimensions: 5 1/4" x 7 5/8"
  • Language: English
  • ISBN 13: 978-1-338-57593-4